top of page

My history

How I came to mental preparation

I first became interested in Mental Preparation while practising my sport: road cycling.



I was using more and more mental practices during my bike rides and especially when I was climbing steep, difficult mountain passes.







After supporting professional tennis players at a number of WTA tournaments in Europe, including Roland Garros and Wimbledon, I wanted to support sportspeople to help them optimise their performance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I realised what I was capable of mentally when I injured my knee for the first time (meniscus and cruciate ligaments).



I discovered previously unknown abilities within myself to overcome my fears and doubts about the injury.



I had to work mentally and find the resources to be able to practice my sport again and return to competition.



Below, I describe one of my experiences of returning from injury and the steps I had to take to get back into competition.

 




 

 

 

                                                                                                                                   

 

               

Roland Garros 3.jpg
Wimbledon 6.jpg

One of my experiences in coming back from knee surgery







At the end of February 2015, I injured my knee during indoor football training. The doctor's diagnosis: the cartilage in my left knee was badly damaged. In fact, I lost 9 mm of cartilage on each side of my knee. Following my doctor's advice, I had to give up football for good, much to my dismay.



So I went back to road cycling with a very unstable knee. For 19 months, I did a lot of cycling, but I always had some pain in my knee. It hurt when I stood for long periods and after heavy physical effort.


Then in October 2016, I decided to see another doctor-surgeon. To my great surprise, I discovered that I had ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in my left knee. As a result, I needed a 3rd operation on my knee.



At the end of February 2017, I finally had surgery on the anterior cruciate ligament in my left knee for the 3rd time. 4 days after the operation, I was already back on an indoor bike for 5 minutes. It was difficult. But this time, I had the perfect attitude to return to competition as soon as possible. A very positive mental attitude helped me enormously to manage this period of doubt. My determination to come back was much stronger than the pain and doubt. It all happened so quickly. I spent 6 weeks in rehabilitation and physiotherapy.

At the beginning of April 2017, I started cycling outside again. At first, I couldn't get into a dancer on the bike because I couldn't bend my knee enough. I quickly adapted and every day I told myself that I was going to come back even stronger than before. So I did some hard training in the mountains.


At the beginning of May 2017, I climbed the first mountain passes on my bike. It wasn't easy at first to manage a long sustained effort up the cols.

At the end of the month, I did some much harder cols again for 3 weeks. That helped me a lot to perfect my condition in the mountains and improve my pace on climbs.


Then at the end of June 2017, exactly 4 months after my knee operation, I did a 70km bike race again. It felt good to put a bib back on, but the result wasn't as good as I'd hoped.





A week later, I climbed to the top of Mont Ventoux with 2 players and the former President of Geneva Servette Hockey Club, as well as a friend. I climbed the Ventoux in under 2 hours without being overtaken by anyone. It was a great performance and I was very happy to be back at this level after some very difficult weeks. This experience proves that you always need to have high objectives in mind to succeed and come back as quickly as possible after an injury.

Hospital 2.jpg
Knee 2.jpg
Knee 1.jpg
M Mont-Ventoux 2019 7.jpg
Mont Ventoux 6.jpg
Mont Ventoux 7.jpg

One of my biggest challenges

In July 2020, I cycled 600 km alone in 6 days, crossing the highest Swiss passes in the Alps.

My challenge that I had set for myself at the start: it was to reach Geneva in 6 days from St. Moritz in Graubünden, to cross Switzerland from West to East. It wasn't easy, but I had trained very hard and the form was there. However, I had to push all my limits every day and perfect my mental qualities. I knew in my head that I could do it.

So I managed to get from Geneva to St. Moritz in 24 hours and 11 minutes over 6 full days. A great performance with an average of 4 hours and 2 minutes per day. It was a big victory for me and I was very proud of my achievement. Above all, I proved to myself that I could do it. The most important thing is to always believe in your abilities and never give up.

It is through my various training courses in mental preparation and with my mental skills that I support athletes, so that they progress, perform in their respective sports and become even better.

DSC_0007.JPG
DSC_0182.JPG
DSC_0537.JPG
DSC_0290.JPG
DSC_0475.JPG
bottom of page

top of page

Mon historique

Comment je suis venu à la préparation mentale

J'ai commencé à m'intéresser à la Préparation mentale en pratiquant mon Sport: le cyclisme sur route.

J'utilisais de plus en plus des pratiques mentales lors de mes sorties à vélo et surtout lorsque je montais des pentes raides, des cols difficiles en haute montagne.

Après avoir soutenu des joueuses Professionnelles de Tennis sur plusieurs tournois dont Roland Garros et Wimbledon, j'ai souhaité accompagner des sportifs et les aider à optimiser leurs performances.

J'ai pris conscience de mes capacités mentales lorsque je me suis blessé la première fois au genou.

J'ai découvert en moi des capacités encore inconnues pour pouvoir surmonter mes peurs, mes doutes face à cette blessure.

J'ai dû travailler mentalement et trouvé des ressources pour pouvoir repratiquer mon sport et reprendre la compétition par la suite.

Je vous décris ci-dessous une de mes expériences de retour de blessure et les étapes qu'il m'a fallu suivre pour revenir en compétition.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                                                                                   

 

               

Roland Garros 3.jpg
Wimbledon 6.jpg

Une de mes expériences pour revenir après une opération au genou 

Fin février 2015, je me suis blessé au genou lors d’un entraînement de football en salle. Diagnostic du médecin : le cartilage de mon genou gauche était très endommagé. En effet, j’ai perdu 9 mm de cartilage de chaque côté de mon genou. Suite au conseil de mon médecin : j’ai dû arrêter définitivement le football, à mon grand désespoir.

Je me suis donc remis au cyclisme sur route avec un genou bien instable. Pendant 19 mois, j’ai fait beaucoup de vélo, mais j’avais toujours quelques douleurs à mon genou. Cela me faisait mal quand je restais longtemps debout et après un gros effort physique.

 

Puis en octobre 2016, j’ai décidé de consulter un autre médecin-chirurgien. A ma grande surprise, j’ai découvert que j’avais une rupture du ligament croisé antérieur de mon genou gauche. Du coup, une 3e opération de mon genou s’imposait.

Fin février 2017, je me suis finalement fait opérer du ligament croisé antérieur du genou gauche pour la 3e fois. 4 jours après l’opération, je suis déjà remonté 5 minutes sur un vélo d’intérieur. C’était difficile. Mais cette fois-ci, j’avais la parfaite attitude pour revenir au plus vite à la compétition. Un mental très positif m’a énormément aidé pour gérer cette période de doute. Ma volonté de revenir était bien plus forte que la douleur et le doute. Tout s’est enchaîné et passé si vite. J’ai fait la rééducation et la physiothérapie pendant 6 semaines.

 

Début avril 2017, j’ai recommencé le vélo à l’extérieur. Au début, je ne pouvais pas me mettre en danseuse sur le vélo car je ne pouvais pas plier suffisamment mon genou. Je me suis vite adapté et chaque jour, je me suis dit que j’allais revenir encore plus fort qu’auparavant. Alors, j’ai effectué des entraînements difficiles en montagne.

 

Début mai 2017, je suis monté les premiers cols à vélo. Ce n'était pas évident au début de gérer un long effort soutenu dans les cols.

A la fin du mois, j’ai refait des cols bien plus difficiles pendant 3 semaines. Cela m'a beaucoup aidé à parfaire ma condition en montagne et à améliorer mon rythme en montée. 

 

Puis fin juin 2017, 4 mois exactement après mon opération du genou, j’ai refait une course de vélo de 70 km. Ça faisait du bien de remettre un dossard, mais le résultat n’était pas aussi bien que j’espérais.

Une semaine plus tard, je suis monté au sommet du Mont Ventoux avec 2 joueurs et l’ancien président du Genève Servette Hockey Club, ainsi qu'un ami. J’ai effectué la montée du Ventoux sous les 2h et sans me faire dépasser par quelqu’un. C’était une grande performance et j’étais très content d’être revenu à ce niveau après des semaines bien difficiles. Cette expérience prouve qu’il faut toujours avoir des objectifs élevés en tête pour réussir et revenir le plus vite possible après une blessure. 

Hôpital 2.jpg
Genou 2.jpg
Genou 1.jpg
M Mont-Ventoux 2019 7.jpg
Mont Ventoux 6.jpg
Mont Ventoux 7.jpg

Un de mes plus gros challenges

 

En juillet 2020, j’ai effectué en solitaire 600 km à vélo en 6 jours en franchissant les plus hauts cols suisses des Alpes.

Mon challenge que je m’étais fixé au départ : c’était de rallier en 6 jours Genève à St. Moritz dans les Grisons, de traverser la Suisse d’Ouest en Est. Ce n’était pas chose facile, mais je m’étais entraîné très dur et la forme était là. Cependant, j’ai dû repousser chaque jour toutes mes limites et perfectionner mes qualités mentales. Je savais dans ma tête que je pouvais le faire.

J’ai donc réussi à rallier Genève à St. Moritz en 24 heures et 11 minutes sur 6 jours complets. Une belle performance avec une moyenne de 4 heures et 2 minutes par jour. C’était une grande victoire pour moi et j’étais très fier de ma réussite. Je me suis surtout prouvé à moi-même que je pouvais le faire. Le plus important est de toujours croire en ses capacités et ne jamais rien lâcher.

 

C’est à travers mes différentes formations en préparation mentale et avec mes aptitudes mentales que j’accompagne les sportifs, afin qu'ils progressent, performent dans leurs sports respectifs et deviennent encore meilleur.

DSC_0007.JPG
DSC_0182.JPG
DSC_0537.JPG
DSC_0290.JPG
DSC_0475.JPG
bottom of page